Look Again – Jonah 2:1-4

From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the LORD his God.  He said:  “In my distress I called to the Lord, and he answered me.  From the depths of the grave I called for help, and you listened to my cry.  You hurled me into the deep, into the very heart of the seas, and the currents swirled about me; all your waves and breakers swept over me.  I said, “I have been banished from your sight; yet I will look again toward your holy temple.   

When we catch up with Jonah in Chapter 2 – he had disobeyed God and he was on the run.  God sent the storm and Jonah had been in the belly of the fish for three days.  Three days!  Jonah must have been a very stubborn man to wait three days before he began to pray.  Sound familiar?  

Jonah fought God’s will every step of the way – the good news for Christ followers is that God loves us in spite of our disobedience.  God wants to use our “bad” or “difficult” circumstances for good.  Are you lonely, depressed, forsaken or discouraged right now?  Do what Jonah did – pray and look at the “holy temple” and call upon God’s great mercy.  No matter what you’re going through right now…you are never far from God – he is accessible, approachable, ready and willing.  Call out to the very Lord – maker of heaven and earth – for strength!  I know that he will surely hear you!  Look again.    

Therefore I will look unto the Lord, I will wait for the God
of my salvation:  my God will hear me.  Micah 7:7

1 thought on “Look Again – Jonah 2:1-4

  1. Pingback: Letting Go | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a comment